You’re Doing Fine

For the past few months I’ve been having a very hard time with my current place in life, and it often leads to uncomfortable conversations with loved ones that end in screaming, crying, and overall exhaustion.

Why? Because nobody knows what to say. Everyone wants to help, but it seems they can’t. So eventually they give up and ask, “what do you want me to say?”

This is my least favorite question, because it’s kind of like doing all of the work myself. If I tell you what to say to make me feel better, then it’s not coming from you and you’re not making me feel better. Not to mention, if I knew what words would magically make me feel better, wouldn’t I just say them to myself and avoid this argument?

That’s when I realized: I didn’t know what I wanted them to say.

So I sat down and I thought about it, and I learned that the words I need to hear right now are simply things that I need to believe to get through the day. Such as… it’s okay that I cried this morning. It doesn’t mean anything is wrong with me, it doesn’t mean I’m failing. It means I’m scared and confused and sad… and having those emotions sometimes are OKAY. It’s normal.

And that’s why I started this blog. To remind you that it’s okay, and you’re doing fine. No matter what anyone else tells you, your decisions are your own, and you alone have to live with them. Do the best you can to make those the best decisions for you, and if you aren’t where you want to be, it doesn’t mean you will never get there. It’s okay… you’re doing fine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

