Yes I Can

Look in the mirror and say this to yourself. Every morning. Say it until you believe it.

I’ve talked about taking baby steps before, but today I have a concrete example to share. I’ve told you all that I love writing music, and I want to improve in singing, playing guitar, and playing piano.

So far this year, I’ve had nothing but excuses. I look at my guitar every day, and think “I’m too tired, I’ll play it tomorrow.”

I look at the grand piano downstairs and tell myself, “I can’t play it, because it’s loud and will disturb the other people in this house.”

Last week I decided to take my excuses away. Regardless of how tired I am, I can play the guitar for 5 minutes. My goal is to be practicing for 30 minutes a day, but I think 5 is a tangible and realistic starting point. I can play a handful of scales in 5 minutes.

I also purchased a keyboard that has has headphones I can plug in, so I can no longer use the excuse that I’ll be disturbing anyone in the house when I’m the only one that can here me playing.

I’ll be honest with you, I’ve had the keyboard for about 5 days and it’s still in it’s box. My goal for tomorrow is to take it out of its box and set it up. My goal for Tuesday is to read the instructions. I don’t think I’ll be playing it until next week, but that’s what I mean when I keep talking about baby steps and small victories.

Think about what you want, and make a plan. The planning stage is the easiest part for me, but maybe you struggle with planning. If that’s the case, give yourself about half a hour, and make a list. What materials do you need? How much time do you need? Do you need to find somebody to help you?

Once you have this list, you can make your plan. Buy materials. Call friend/mentor for assistance. Make sure you put specific days/times to accomplish these steps.

When your plan is done, do a happy dance. You completed your second step (the list was your first).

Once you execute each step of your plan, do another happy dance. If you don’t like dancing, take yourself out for ice cream.

These things need to be celebrated!

Do not let anyone tell you that you’re not closer to your goals because someone else is taking bigger steps than you.

Do what works for you.

It all starts with believing that you can.

And yes, you can.

Leave a Reply

