Delayed Gratification

My mom often says “sometimes you just have to sit in your discomfort” and until recently it made no sense to me. I think I just didn’t like how she phrased it. 

I prefer to think of it as delayed gratification. 

In most job settings, its customary to give 2 weeks notice, but usually that’s the employes choice. You CAN just up and leave. But what’s 2 more weeks in a job you don’t like to keep a positive relationships with the employer? You may need to return to that job, or use them as a reference. 

I’ll give you a personal example: I absolutely detest the apartment I live in. 

The management is horrible and rude, many days I go without hot water, there are too many bugs, the neighbors take noisy to a whole new level, the list goes on…well my lease is up in September. 

I’ve already found my new apartment, it’s still being built. It’s supposed to finish in August, but I learned the other day that it will actually be ready in May. When I got that notification, I strongly considered breaking my lease or even paying rent at both places for 4 months. Living here causes my psyche that much stress. 

But God told me to be patient. Save my money. Good things come to those who wait. 

Whatever it is that’s causing you heartache, take comfort in knowing it’s not forever, even if it feels like it and you can’t see a way out. 

For some of you, you CAN see a way out, and that makes it worse for you because it isn’t time to leave. You want to run to the exit but you have to walk or crawl. 

Good things come to those who wait. 

We will get there, and it will be beautiful. 

Keep trying. You’re doing fine, and you’re exactly where you need to be. 

Leave a Reply

