Lift Up, Don’t Tear Down

I’ve been reading a lot of “inspirational” articles and books lately, and a common thread I’ve noticed is “if you’re unhappy/unsuccessful it’s you’re fault and you’re attracting all the negativity to your life” and that REALLY bothers me.

Some people are motivated by that kind of talk so I get it, but personally I don’t find it helpful to attack or place blame on myself for things that went wrong.

Of course I believe we should all learn to accept blame and move on from it, like if you spoke out of line and damaged a friendship, own up to it.

But I don’t think it’s healthy to say you’re unhappy because you made yourself that way. – is that not the opposite of self love?

You didn’t. You’re trying.

I think we should all keep looking forward.

If you don’t like something about yourself, maybe you have bad anxiety, doesn’t it make more sense to focus on how to combat it, rather than sitting down saying I am so anxious because of xyz that I didn’t do when I was a kid?

Give yourself a break! Life is challenging. It hurts sometimes. We’re going to break down, and that’s okay, so long as we get back up.

Hang in there, you’re exactly where you need to be.

One thought on “Lift Up, Don’t Tear Down

Leave a comment